Interview #6- The Non-Interview Rejection

May 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

It was for a receptionist position at an online college. They phone interviewed me for 5 minutes and then told me I would need to take a “skills” test. Little did I know that I would be taking the LSAT to interview as a receptionist. Forty-five minutes of logical reasoning questions–and NOT the easy kind. So I passed it with the help of my sister and brother-in-law and was scheduled for a regular interview on a Wednesday morning.

I called Wednesday morning and cancelled my interview. “Hi this is ________, and I was scheduled to have an interview with you this morning. Unfortunately, I accepted a position just yesterday with another company and I will not be coming in. I would like to thank you very much for the opportunity.”

One week later I received this email:

Dear Candidate,

I am in review of your resume in regards to a Front Office Receptionist position on our Oregon campus, and would like to know if you are still in search of employment. 

The position pays $12.00 per hour, is full time and we offer a nice benefits package.

Please let me know if you are interested in pursuing this possible opportunity.

Regards,

***** *******
Staffing Coordinator,
Talent Acquisition Team


New Name. Same Mission.
US Education Corporation is now Carrington Colleges Group, Inc.
Career minded. Life Changing
.™


To which I replied:


Dear *******,

I was offered an interview at Carrington as a receptionist a couple of weeks ago, but I called to cancel because I found other employment the day before.

Thank you, however, for your time.

Sincerely,

The American Dream

Another week went by and I received this email:

May 6, 2011

Dear American Dream,

I wanted to thank you for your interest in Carrington College and for the Receptionist – Portland position you applied for.

Your qualifications have been carefully reviewed. However, we have moved forward with another candidate who we feel more closely matches the desired skills and experience of the Receptionist – Portland position.

Your resume will be retained for a reasonable period of time and you will be contacted in the event our employment needs should change. We also encourage you to visit our website as new positions become available.

We appreciate your interest in our company and wish you success in your search for a suitable career position.

Sincerely,

Carrington Colleges Talent Acquisition

What does it say about our job market when you get rejected after CANCELLING your interview? Dammit.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Interview #6- The Non-Interview Rejection at The Bat that Broke that Got Her There.

meta

